Finalists for inaugural Paul Carson Broadcast & Media Awards announced

Paul Carson photo credit: The Province

The nominees for the inaugural Paul Carson Broadcast & Media Awards were announced Wednesday January 18th, recognizing excellence in sports broadcast and journalism in the Vancouver marketplace across nine categories of radio, television and print.

The Vancouver sport scene lost a friend, advocate and legend when Paul Carson passed away in December 2010.  Carson was best-known for his work in sports television as one of the hosts of, the now defunct, Sportspage news magazine show on CKVU and Global TV. He also served as a trailblazer in sports radio on the strength of his work as a co-founder of TEAM 1040 sports radio in Vancouver.

“Paul had an uncanny knack of recognizing media talent and the results of that are reflected in how many people connected to him are now working in major broadcast roles throughout British Columbia and across Canada,” said Tom Mayenknecht, host of The Sport Market on TEAM 1040 and and a member of the group working to recognize both Carson’s memory and sports media excellence in Metropolitan Vancouver. “Naming an annual platform to recognize broadcast and media excellence seemed like a natural fit in building on the legacy of the Great Carsoni.”

The 2012 finalists were named from a list of nominees compiled by a multi-media panel assembled by “Friends of Paul Carson” and The Sport Market on TEAM 1040 and

Final voting will be done by a cross-section of more than 100 broadcasters, journalists and media management and production professionals residing or working in Vancouver. Voting closes Wednesday, January 25th, 2012 with The Paul Carson Broadcast & Media Awards announced Thursday, January 26th, 2012.

Who are your favourites?

Paul Carson Broadcast & Media Awards Finalists – 2011

1. Sports Reporter

Jason Botchford              The Province
Bruce Constantineau     The Vancouver Sun
Gary Kingston                 The Vancouver Sun
Bob Mackin                     The Vancouver Courier
Lowell Ullrich                 The Province

2. Sports Columnist

Cam Cole                  The Vancouver Sun
Tony Gallagher       The Province
Iain MacIntyre        The Vancouver Sun
Jeff Paterson           Georgia Straight
Ed Willes                  The Province

3. Sports Radio Talk Show Host

Barry Macdonald      TEAM 1040
David Pratt
Dan Russell                CKNW 980
Matt Sekeres              TEAM 1040
Don Taylor                 TEAM 1040

4. Sports Radio News Anchor

Bob Addison                   CKWX 1130
Iain McLetchie               TEAM 1040
Rick Quinton                 CKNW 980
Ann Schmaltz                CKWX 1130
Karen Thomson            TEAM 1040

5. Sports Radio Reporter

Matt Baker              TEAM 1040
Jeff Paterson          TEAM 1040
Ann Schmaltz         CKWX 1130
Karen Thomson     TEAM 1040
Stu Walters             CKNW 980

6. Sports Television News Anchor

Squire Barnes              Global TV
Shane Foxman            CBC TV
Jason Pires                  CTV
Perry Solkowski         CTV
Don Taylor                  Sportsnet

7. Sports Television News Reporter

Jay Durant                 Global TV
Farhan Lalji               TSN
Karin Larsen              CBC TV
Dan Murphy              Sportsnet
Perry Solkowski        CTV/TSN

8. Broadcast Play-by-Play

Rick Ball                       TEAM/CBC
Rob Fai                         TEAM
Jim Hughson               CBC
Peter Schaad               TEAM 1410
John Shorthouse        Sportsnet/TEAM 1040

9. Broadcast Colour Commentary

Giulio Caravatta        TEAM 1410
Paul Dolan                  TEAM 1410
Ray Ferraro                TSN
John Garrett               Sportsnet
Dave Tomlinson        TEAM 1040

Have Your Say