Polaris Music Prize 2013 – Short List

polarisFor the 8th year, the Polaris Music Prize has announced its Short List of eligible albums.  The Polaris Prize is an annual prize, adjudicated by Canada’s music press without regard to genre or sales, making it one of the truest celebration of Canada’s music scene.  Past winners; Feist, Arcade Fire, Karkwa, F*cked Up, Caribou, Patrick Watson, and Final Fantasy reflect the diversity of Canadian music that Polaris encourages.  This year’s 218 member jury has culled through every eligible album to get to a long list of 40 and has today released their short list of the 10 albums to be considered for the $30,000 award.

The Polaris Short List 2013:

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
Metric – Synthetica
Purity Ring – Shrines
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Tegan And Sara – Heartthrob
A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Whitehorse – The Fate Of The World Depends On This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine

The wildly diverse list, announced today at Drake Hotel in Toronto, features 3 time short list nominee Metric as well as Tegan And Sara and Colin Stetson both acts are on the short list for their second time.
The 11 person Grand Jury will now convene to make the difficult choice of THE Canadian album of the year. The Prize will be presented at the Gala ceremony hosted by two time short list nominees Kathleen Edwards and Shad on September 23 at Carlu in Toronto.

The public can witness the presentation first hand, a limited number of public $50 balcony seat tickets for the Gala go on sale Monday July 22 on ticketfly.com

For more information on the Polaris Music Prize visit them on the web, Twitter @PolarisPrize and Facebook.com/PolarisMusicPrize

Have Your Say