Recipients of First Annual Paul Carson Broadcast & Media Awards Announced

Winners of the inaugural Paul Carson Broadcast & Media Awards were announced Thursday January 26th, recognizing excellence in sports broadcast and journalism in the Vancouver marketplace across nine categories of radio, television and print.

The 2012 finalists were named from a list of nominees compiled by a multi-media panel assembled by “Friends of Paul Carson” and The Sport Market on TEAM 1040 and Voting was done by a cross-section of more than 100 broadcasters, journalists and media management and production professionals residing or working in Vancouver.

Winners were announced January 26th in the following categories:

1. Sports Reporter
Lowell Ullrich                 The Province

2. Sports Columnist
Iain MacIntyre        The Vancouver Sun

3. Sports Radio Talk Show Host (tie)
Barry Macdonald      TEAM 1040
Dan Russell                CKNW 980

4. Sports Radio News Anchor
Rick Quinton                 CKNW 980

5. Sports Radio Reporter
Jeff Paterson          TEAM 1040

6. Sports Television News Anchor
Don Taylor                  Sportsnet

7. Sports Television News Reporter
Farhan Lalji               TSN

8. Broadcast Play-by-Play
Jim Hughson               CBC

9. Broadcast Colour Commentary
Ray Ferraro                TSN

Have Your Say